New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, technology has altered children ’s recreational activities. Thanks to the variety offered via online useful games, they can acquire beneficial skills. However, I believe that those merits are eclipsed by the detrimental impacts of the use of technology on their social lives and health. Admittedly, technological advances hold two possible benefits from the implementation of technology in the entertainment options.. The first fruitful virtue is the diversity of online games introduced for children. To illustrate, since they have access to numerous games especially tailored for various age stages, they never get bored,unlike other physical-demanding games. Another feasible merit is that those games help children develop their cognitive skills. For instance, via devices such as VR glasses, they can immerse themselves in a virtual reality world. Therefore, this definitely boosts their imagination skills. Nevertheless, technology has multiple adverse outcomes in terms of children ’s health as well as their social lives. Physically, as they have become obsessed with those time-passing online activities, they usually abstain any physical effort games. This is highly noticed in the exponential rise in the obesity figures of children. Additionally, in the long term, they suffer from eyesight impairments owing to spending much time on screens. Not only do they encounter health disorders, but they also experience an isolated life. Once they engage in virtual communication, they cannot develop the social skills needed for real contact. This will negatively affect their relationships with either their parents or mates resulting in further repercussions. To conclude, from my perspective, I assume that negative outcomes from using technology as a mean of entertaining children are more significant than the benefits. Even if they can enjoy their leisure time and improve their cognitive skills, they are susceptible to a sedentary lifestyle and several diseases.