In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourism is becoming a global phenomenon in which many nations use to generate income. However, there is a drawback to this new business. In my opinion, I completely agree that the pros of tourism outweigh the cons. Nowadays many nations are beginning to realise their tourism potentials and are tapping on it to make extra funds to boost their economy. Travelling offers great advantages to individuals or a group as the case may be, they do not only enjoy trips while embarking on a journey but also they will get to see other peoples cultural heritage, learn a new language at the same time unwind. The government of each nation where they transit from while travelling also makes extra income as a traveller pays VAT on items purchase. For example, in 2015, while I was in a group tour to France, I remember vividly we stopped at Dubai for about 5 hours and a majority of my mates bought stuff ranging from perfumes to wines boasting Dubai's economy by a few percentages. On the other hand, international travelling could be so problematic for some nations when they over-rely on tourism. it can affect their economy directly or indirectly. For instance, during an outbreak of a disease like Covid-19 countries put restrictions on travelling which are termed not essential and some flights cannot transit from one nation to another, thereby affecting those nations directly. In conclusion, international tourism should be encouraged amongst nations but should not be a major source of income generation because of unforeseeable circumstances.