In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Although the percentage of severe criminal offences is on the decline in several nations, citizens feel that they are not as secure they were in the past. In my perspective, fake news on social media is the primary culprit for this situation, and continuous monitoring of Facebook and WhatsApp can be a viable solution. False news on social media applications is a common sight, and these rumours make people nervous about their security. When individuals read about a fake event on these platforms, they believe it and get cautious for their safety. For example, according to a recent survey by the BBC, 83% of urban dwellers in India believe that telegram is not a social interaction application, and they use it as an authentic news medium. Hence, it is apparent that fake messages on social applications are one of the primary reasons for individuals' insecure feelings. One viable solution to this issue is that governments can implement a mechanism to monitor social media channels. Moreover, it will help authorities to locate the source of rumours, and they can stop fake news. For instance, recent research at Oxford University stated that when a group of people were asked to remove Facebook from their devices, their insecurity level had reduced by 23%. Thus, it is evident that if authorities monitor social websites and applications, they can mitigate the insecure feeling among citizens. To conclude, the percentage of severe crimes is lower than before and is continuously reducing in several countries. Still, people feel their social environment is not as secure as before. In my opinion, false news on social media is the main reason for this issue, and authorities can address it by monitoring social platforms.