With the increased global demand for oil and gas. Undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that energy needs have risen during the last decades and this has force looking for alternatives. While some people believe that governments should investigate unexplored areas of the world in order to discover new resources, I take the view that we ought to improve the natural resources we currently know. In this essay, I will support my judgement with examples. Firstly, nature’s life is as important as humans’ one, and we have to protect it against any enemy which includes us. Furthermore, citizens must respect the balance between both worlds because it contributes to maintaining the planet as we know it. To illustrate, some studies propose that the extinction of one type of animal may lead into the end of humanity. One clear example is the bees’ extinction, which might seem something insignificant, but they are extremely important to the planet. As a result, if we start exploring new areas and we destroy any animal specie, there is a chance that the Earth would disappear. Secondly, to tackle the problem governments can invest in renewable resources, which are well-known among the scientific community, and are more accesible. Moreover, the investment needed in this sort of methods would be fewer than the one needed to explore undiscovered areas of the planet, because we would not have to start from zero. For example, there are a lot of studies about solar or geothermic energy, which can be continued and improved to acquire new information. Consequently, we would not have to take the risk of destroying any biosphere. To come to a conclusion, while I accept that some people want to discover new parts of the planet, I firmly believe that we have to improve our current knowledge about renewable resources instead of commencing new projects. It is evident that before trying a new approach, we need to invest into our current methods.