It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than people in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

Life has become more fast-paced than ever before, and people rarely have any leisure time for themselves. Thus, I think that the prediction about individuals enjoying more free time in the 21st century has not come true. This essay would discuss the reasons for this hectic lifestyle. Firstly, the changed work hours environment and has occupied the majority of a person’s time. In past people normally used to work in regular office hours, however now they have the opportunity to work round the clock and make extra money. Their dreams of luxurious or at least better future lure them for availing this opportunity, which results in increasing work time and decreasing personal and free time. Besides, there is a cut-throat competition in the job market today, this compelled most employees to consume their leisure time for sake of better performance and substantially job security. Moreover, trends of dual-income nuclear families, as well as adults moving out for jobs, are also affecting the amount of free time a person gets. In both scenarios, a working person does not only has the responsibility of office work but also needs to do household chores after returning from office. This makes it almost impossible for them to enjoy any free time. Although, in old days elderly people in joint families and housewives used to take care of these chores, and working people did also have time to relax. Nonetheless, more and more people are travelling these days, enjoying international trips unlike the past, this creates a thought that humans have more recreational time. However, they are actually getting this one or two weeks time for themselves once or twice a year, and working like machines for rest of the year, which can not be justified as more free time in comparison to past. In conclusion, people are working harder with increased competition, more working hours, more responsibilities and reduced leisure time.