Some students find certain subjects, such as maths and philosophy, difficult. So, some people argue that these subjects should not be compulsory for all. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that courses such as math and philosophy should be made optional for students because many of them find it hard. This essay disagrees with the statement to take off these subjects from the mandatory syllabus. Firstly, the curriculum will help pupils with problem-solving skills and secondly, it enhances their imagination and creativity power. To begin with, mathematics is a practical subject that teaches children to solve a certain equation. Moreover, it requires them to be analytical and develops their thinking capacity and helps in the development of the brain and even in their cognitive development. These traits are significant skils that a child carries on and reflect it when they are adults in form of intelligence and smartness. For example, a study completed by Cambridge University found that those individuals who were good in maths had more problem-solving technique when they became adults. On the other hand, the category of philosophy encourages the learners to develop their imagination and creativity by the study of different kinds of literature, poems and novels. It requires a great deal of attention to details and emphasizes the human capacity of thinking outside the box. To exemplify, these subjects can help the younger generation to understand their power of thinking of new things and become a creative person. Therefore, this proficiency is considered as high-level competence that can help in future career development such as writers, directors and scientists. In conclusion, courses such as math and philosophy provide the learner with valuable skills like dealing with the challenges and becoming imaginative which can help the learners to develop their cognitive expertise and thinking capacity.