Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, there has been a widespread controversy about the reason for learning the foreign dialect. These are two contrasting viewpoints,a group of people think that the usefulness for studying a foreign accent is for travelling and working process while some school of thoughts reasons beyond those circumstances. This essay will discuss both views and a final opinion will be drawn. To start with, supporters of this view claim that the motives for studying overseas dialect are for securing jobs because this will enhance easy communication and relating well with each other. This implies that understanding their sense of language will ease conversation and respond thereby promoting productivity. For instance, recent research by the Economist reveals the impact of language in business centres to be the most significant strategy. In addition, the migration process for applicants with different knowledge of languages finds it easier to accomplish their wish. Therefore, it can be clearly seen that in order to travel or have a good job overseas, foreign dialects should be learnt. In contrast, opponents of this viewpoint allude that there are other causes for studying overseas dialect rather than for travelling and jobs, this can help to enhance the scope of knowledge. This means that foreign culture and mode of living can be learned through their language. To cite an example, a recent study shows that the most significant proportion of students studying linguistics have the knowledge of history and culture of the country. Similarly, learning oversea dialect can assist researchers in their field of work. Hence, it can be deduced that the benefits of learning an overseas language can be more than acquiring a post or processing of travelling. In conclusion, this essay discussed two contrasting points about the reasons for studying an overseas language. In my opinion, this assists in increasing the scope of knowledge and researchers as well.