Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but put are in nurse homes or care homes. What are the advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

In recent times, families have chosen to find care or nurse homes for their elderly relatives. Some people argue that this decision helps to sustain decreasing health conditions, while others believe that this can affect the emotional health of seniors. There are both advantages and disadvantages to such a situation. Senior nurseries might improve the living standard for both families and elders. In some cases when the health condition is severe, families are not able to provide the necessary care for their loved ones while working full-time. Furthermore, care homes provide adjusted environments as well as social groups that support the emotional well-being of people in their golden years. As an example, Australia offers elderly community housing, where seniors can have all the necessary support and health care, while living lives, gardening and spending time with their peers. Such an environment enriches the remaining years. Among the drawbacks, the separation from the family is emotionally damaging. Emotional support and a healing environment are not offered at some nursing homes. The majority of such places focus on sustaining health rather than improving it. Therefore, pensioners might feel isolated and abandoned by their families. Taking my grandmother as an example, she is in very poor health and my mom is not capable of taking care of her, but feels miserable that her mother is put in such conditions. The decision to put an elderly relative into a nurse's care is a hard one to make. There are many advantages for everyone and quality of life can be enhanced if the place is well-equipped. However, most nurseries only focus on sustaining lives and that might not be the best environment for the loved one to be placed at.