In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? (* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is ‘to play truant from school.’)

Truancy is considered a major concernment not only for parents but also for educators. Although this is a delicate matter that might require a profound analysis, this essay will discuss some of the possible causes of truancy and how it can affect the community as a whole. To begin with, children, nowadays, have almost total unsupervised access to the internet; consequently they are exposed to youngsters and other groups of people who might influence them to break the rules and develop a bad behaviour at home and in school. In addition, the necessity of working long hours to afford the cost of living in urban centres is making parents less available to educate and discipline their offsprings properly. To illustrate that, a study published in the United States showed that sixty-five per cent of parents cannot educate their children during the week due to their working routine. Nevertheless, truancy represents the surface of a problem that might inflict severe damages not only to individuals but also for society. Children who behave unproperly in early ages might develop serious behavioural problems in the future, including the possibility of start using drugs and practicing criminal activities. For instance, Colombia has one of the most unsupervised population of children due to their culture, hence they have to face youngsters who are enrolled in criminal activities and drugs traffic. To conclude, unsupervised access to the internet and the abscence of parents regarding their educational responsibilities with their offsprings might be the causes of truancy nowadays. Therefore, individuals and society might be negatively affected with this phenomenon, once personal disorders might lead a child to commit crimes in the future.