In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? #184

In this contemporary era, people have been living busier lives all across the world. Some individuals think that a small number of youngsters only read newspapers or watch the news on television. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this trend, and also give some suggestions to solve this problem. Firstly, teenagers are mostly spending their time on social media, which is distracting them to read newspaper or watch news on television. To illustrate, on social media, folks love to talk to their friends and also spend time liking posts of each other, which makes them unaware of the benefits of reading a newspaper. For instance, as per recent reports by The India Digital Media Department, 80% of people who use social media are the Youngsters, and these youngsters have screen time on social media of 10 hours a day, which prevents them from doing other important things in their lives. Therefore, the number of young people who read newspapers and follow the news on TV is less. However, news channels should also start posting news on social media platforms such as Instagram and Facebook because youngsters, when they scroll social media on their phones, then they will be able to read news through social media. Secondly, schools and colleges should have newspapers in their library, and when students read newspapers in the library, their interest will be piqued. For instance, when I was in college, I used to read the newspaper every day during a break, and when I completed my graduation, I was not able to spend my day without reading it at home, and this became my habit. In conclusion, social media is the cause that only a few youngsters are reading newspapers and watching news on TV, and the problem can only be solved by posting news on social media or putting newspapers in the library, by which students' interest will be created.