Art is considered an important part of the society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think its important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art in any community represents its people and their life and therefore is believed to be an integral part of humankind. In my opinion, it is definitely important for children to be educated in art as it enhances their creativity and boosts their mental health. A piece of artwork uses great imagination and visual skills. Therefore, by studying art, children can bring out the creative side of their personality. Without the development of imagination and creative thinking, children will struggle to grow into individual, dynamic thinkers when they reach adulthood. To illustrate, all painters have a unique style of painting which is a reflection of their own individual personalities. Similarly, an architect’s perspective of the world is shown in their grand architecture. Moreover, art also fortifies the mental and emotional health of a person by providing them with a channel to express their emotions, inner feelings and deep desires. In other words, young children do not have linguistic capabilities to put their ideas into language. By studying art, as a result, they are able to convey meaning through pictures and symbols. As can be seen with many child psychologists who use craft as a therapy to understand what children think and feel. In my view, children should be motivated to learn all subjects in the school including art. It is not required to put any extra energy into craftwork unless a child finds himself really passionate about it and decides to take it up as his profession in future. In general, schools should adopt an approach which does not underrate art as a subject and helps the children to make it a part of their life. To conclude, art has been used as a tool of expression and language for communication since historic times. Therefore, it can only be seen as beneficial if this subject is taught since early childhood and not undervalued in schools.