Housing and accommodation has become a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the main factors that have contributed to this problem? What can be done to help reduce the number of homeless people?

Owing to the incessantly increasing population, all the nations across the world suffer from inadequate housing and accommodation space to live in. The principal reason for this problem is that the living area is not equally shared among people and a viable solution for this issue is to eradicate inequality in building the living area amongst humans based on their economic status. Firstly, it is widely seen that rich community build their houses really massive and occupy acres of a plot, whereas families from the relatively poor financial background are left with a minimum area to live or even with no houses, instead they stay on the roadsides. For instance, politicians and famous actors always tend to construct huge buildings for their families. Apart from that, they also raise multiple guesthouses in and around the city and leave it unoccupied. They rarely visit these resorts and spend a holiday with their relatives. A recent survey states that almost 45% of the urban land is owned by the bigshots in India, which is scarcely occupied, on the other side, 38% of Indian population is homeless. So, it is very obvious that the encroaching of land is being executed by the famous personalities of the country, which has led to this miserable state of many individuals, who are on the streets. Secondly, government officials are reluctant to take any legal action against the popular figures after taking a lump sum of bribe. If a strict law is enforced on the maximum limit of purchase of ground by an individual, there can be a chance that the living space would be left for other people. Furthermore, employment and basic necessity such as shelter must be provided by the Authorities to every citizen of the nation. If we take the example of Oman, every individual gets three job opportunities based on their educational level and every family is given a piece of plot free of cost. So, there is nobody left on the roads without a home. Thus, the leaders of the country must be efficient to come up with a plan to eradicate this inequality among humans, in terms of accommodation, which can be thought of as the best solution to overcome this problem. To conclude, every individual must be content enough to occupy less area and leave fellow human being also a space to live in. Also, civil law must be brought into effect to ensure that every civilian has home to live in.