Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, transportation and abuse of the environment have been listed as rising issues that frequently occur in most developing countries. These kinds of issues are always predicted and obviously cannot be easily neglected. Some people suggest that increasing the price of fuel is the most suitable way of reducing the traffic on public roads and pollution which occurs around it. This essay will discuss the possible outcome of both opinions by considering kinds of possible measures that might have an effect. Firstly, while the oil industry has a very competitive price range, increasing the premium of petrol will not totally reduce movement on roads. For example, when this exact measure was initially introduced in Sri Lanka, it was quickly ruled out after a few months of execution. The number of vehicles on the roads did not show a major decline at all. However, that brought up a plethora of issues for the people who are poor and cannot afford petrol at that rate. Therefore, it was a clear example of an ineffective move that was placed by the government. Secondly, other developing countries have already demonstrated what exactly needs to be placed in order to reduce the effect of traffic as well as pollution. To illustrate, many established countries in,Europe has enforced laws for parking and carbon emission. The public is taxed on vehicle use on the inner-city roadways. Public transport should also be improved in order to expect the laws to function as expected. As an example of a success story, Sri Lanka recently initialled a concept named 'CityBus' which allows car drives to park and take the public bus starting from where they parked. These buses travelled to all destinations and consisted of all the luxuries a person would need during a journey such as air conditioning, drinking water and WIFI. This initiative has shown proven results in reducing the number of vehicles travelling into the Colombo city centre. In conclusion, Increasing the price of petrol would have a limited impact on traffic, however, there are other ways how it could be effectively handled such as improving the infrastructure around it. Consequently, I strongly agree that there are other effective ways to control the vehicle movement as well as the harm that it has on the environment.