Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, the crime rate in some countries has significantly increased that those government bodies search for new ways to minimize the means of an individual becoming a criminal. The reasons could vary why would an individual be convinced of committing a crime. This essay discusses both aspects of longer prison sentences and also another alternative method of which have demonstrated a decreasing number of crimes. Firstly, a recent newspaper article published that, the sum of people who are sentenced for longer prison years is considerably high compared to the past years, due to the high penitentiary population, the current aim for governing bodies is to introduce programs to reduce the number of prisoners who were sentenced for long years. For example, the former president of Sri Lanka announced the presidential pardon for a group of individuals and released them who were imprisoned for crimes which were considered to be small. This clearly indicates why imprisoning somebody for longer prison years is not an effective way. Secondly, it is necessary to identify what causes a person to commit a crime. On one hand, one reason could be that they might be addicted to drugs or on the other hand, that individual could be absolutely poor. To illustrate, the government has instituted a number of rehabilitation centres where drug addicts could be rehabilitated. This is an effective way to correct a person instead of sentencing them to jail for years. Although people have different views about imprisonment, to conclude, I strongly believe that sentencing a person to a longer prison period would just not reduce the number of crimes that could occur. Rather than that, governments could initiate more correction centres in order to educate and release who was convicted in an effective method.