In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reading the news is a very critical part of our daily lives. It not only informs us about the latest events taking place in our city and across the world, but also increases our vocabulary and improves our knowledge. Nowadays, there are multiple ways present to keep ourself updated, either traditional way of newspapers or technological driven method of smart devices. Although some people argue that after few years, people will read the news for free via the web and stop purchasing newspapers. I disagree with the statement, and I believe my ideas will be discussed in this essay along with instances from my knowledge. On one hand, reading with the help of our smart-phones or tablets could have a huge impact on saving trees which are cut to produce paper. A research report suggested that more than 30% of the trees cut are linked to such production. Further, it is very convenient to read using such small machines particularly when you are traveling. For example, I read the news on my phone while commuting to work as it is difficult to hold the newspaper during peak hours. Finally, messages could be communicated in a more impactful way using variety of pictures and colours online. On the other hand, newspaper is a very large industry and such changes could have an adverse impact on jobs for several people. Moreover, paper is currently recycled to save the enviornment. Hence, the harmful impact on nature is reduced. In addition, they do not cause any harmful impact to our eyes unlike other prodcuts mentioned earlier. Furthermore, we do not requrie to charge batteries to read the everyday news. Therefore, it enables us to save electricity. In conclusion, it is critical to maintain a balance between the two forms of news. It is a matter of choice for people as to what they prefer. Younger generation may move to online medium, however, there is a sizeable older generation which will stick to the age-old and reliable newspaper.