Transport delays and long journey are widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Throughout the, world many cities have problems regarding traffic and transport delays in urban centres. This essay will discuss what might cause this problem and one possible solution to diminish its effects. To begin with, numerous people who had been living in rural areas over the last decades are being attracted to live in urbanized centres; hence, cities are growing rapidly and developing, among other issues, serious problems regarding public infrastructure of transport. In addition, the necessity of having mobility and the lack of investment in public transportation stimulate people to buy their own vehicles, which contribute even more to traffic jam and delays in transport, especially in rush hours. To illustrate this, São Paulo, one the biggest cities in the world has almost one car per citizen and one of the worst traffic jams in Latin America. Nevertheless, one possible solution might be to stimulate the private sector to take their part investing in solutions and infrastructure for public transportation. There are specialized companies which have the expertise with governments partnerships regarding the management of massive public transport methods. For instance, for the past ten years, improvements and control of New York metro, one of the most famous public transport systems in the world, are the responsibility of a partnership between the New York City Council and private companies. It is important to point out that the arrangement in public-private partnerships can be negotiated freely, accordingly to the objectives and goals previously determined. To conclude, the massive migration of people to urbanized centres and the high numbers of cars in cities represent some of the possible causes for transport delays and long journeys. Creating partnerships between public and private sector might be the solution to develop public transportation properly.