Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

It is observed that more and more people have put on weight around the world. There are ample reasons accounting for this including an unbalanced diet, lacking exercise and growing stress. Obesity does harm to people's health and the economic development of society. Causes for fatness derive from many aspects. Firstly, an increasing number of people are addicted to junk food such as hamburgers and sweet drinks because they are widely sold at low prices in chain stores over the world. People are so occupied with their jobs or study that they have no time to prepare homemade food while eating out is much more convenient. Secondly, a commercial advertisement for snacks with high calories is everywhere, which prompts both adults and children to consume unhealthy food. Thirdly, everyone can not help eating unhealthily to cheer themselves up when they are in a bad mood or under enormous pressure in this competitive world. Last but not least, it is not easy for people to make up their minds and go exercising nowadays after a long day's hard work or tender learning. The popularity of obesity might affect people's health as well as the economic growth of society. To begin with, fatness comes with many commodities including high pressure, diabetes and vascular disease which are chronic and cost a lot. What is more, if these overweight people take days off frequently to see a doctor or even get hospitalized, the work productivity will suffer and the social welfare system will face a considerable challenge. In conclusion, several main factors contribute to the rising number of overweight individuals, which result in poor health and hinder economic progression.