Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

The medical sector is an essential part of human's life, and it is debatable that, whether allowing private companies in these services is beneficial for public or not, as their main aim is to earn a profit. I feel that although these companies sometimes negatively impact the public sector's image, yet the overall merits of having them outweigh demerits. To begin with, people are able to get more timely services only because of the presence of private hospitals. In most countries the public healthcare sector is not developed enough for catering for the needs of the population, this makes the waiting time for patients really long ranging from weeks to months. For example, in the USA an average person has to wait around at least one month to get an appointment with the doctor. In this situation, private hospitals are the only option available for individuals who require urgent medical attention. Moreover, the removal of privately-owned companies for health services can increase the burden on the government, subsequently affecting budgets in other areas. If the government would have to take the full responsibility of public healthcare, they might feel overburdened. They have to allocate more money to this area, and it can reduce the budgets for other sectors, such as education, tourism and so on, which also need funds to grow. Nevertheless, the presence of profit-making companies can impact the perspective of services provided in the public sector. From my personal,experience I can state that, even though government hospitals have good treatments, but individuals assume these free service as being less efficient in curing. It is currently happening in India, where people prefer to avail services from private companies considering their services to be better based on their high fee. In conclusion, it can be said that profit-making companies in health care sector are required for timely treatments, and government burden-sharing reasons, however, the public should be encouraged to consume government provided free services as much as possible.