Research into medical treatments are essential to improve health and fight disease. Who do you think should fund this research: individuals, private companies or governments?

It is true that medical research has a crucial role to promote peoples' health and to fight common diseases. However, there is a debate on who should be held responsible for funding scientists. While some people argue that private companies and ordinary individual should fund this research, I believe it is the government's duty. The main reason why I believe is the government's role to fund research is because both people and companies pay a vast amount of taxes. In many countries taxation is incredibly high and, as a result, the government have a significant source of income. That being said, governors should use part of the money collected to fund medical research. To illustrate, in Brazil 2 per cent of the budget is determined to support science. In addition, many countries have in their constitutions the obligation of developing research. Therefore, it is expected that these nations follow what is written in their laws. Another reason why I support the idea that governments should fund medical research is due to global cooperation. There are many international agreements between countries to support medicine, and this kind of cooperation is almost impossible between companies or ordinary individuals. Finally, a serious and committed government has possibilities to achieve results faster than enterprises. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, the vaccine was possible only after the mutual efforts of developed countries. In conclusion, although some people argue that the budget for medical research should come from individuals and companies, I think the government is responsible for these developments. I suggest that governors strengthen international partnerships with regards to medicine.