Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commuting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions on how punishment is determined, while some people believe that different types of punishments should have common methods, others argue that many factors should be considered, such as crime motives. I think that the later one is more humanized. On the one hand, people agree with the settled penalty for each crime think it has lots of benefits. Firstly, giving a fixed punishment would definitely improve judgement efficiency because all people who commit murder will get the same punishment rather than deciding what type of punishment criminals would deserve. Secondly, it may reduce the crime rates as there is a very strict and harsh punitive system which makes criminals think twice before they commit any crimes. As a result, it contributes to social stability since everyone is aware of the punishment of each crime. On the other hand, some people argue that all types of crime must be investigated by taking all the internal and external factors into consideration which can establish a fair and justified system. For example, it is possible for two who commit murders to have entirely different motives, perhaps one of them committed the act with the deliberate intention to kill while the other was merely trying to save himself from the attacker while committing the murder accidentally. Consequently,If there are fixed punishments for murder, both of them will receive the same punishment which is unfair. In conclusion, even though fixed punishments can be extremely beneficial in the decrease of crime rate and simpler the process of judgment, I tend to believe that it is fairer to decide the penalty on a case-by-case basis.