“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that researching illnesses and curing them can cost astronomical amounts of money. Therefore, they argue that preventing diseases is more crucial. I only partially agree with this view. While I admit that it is important to prevent diseases, in my opinion, research into the cause of diseases is our first defence against them. A good reason to continue medical research is that it is essential to save mankind. Many new diseases have developed over the years. Without research into their behaviour it is impossible to cure them. Research is costly but it allows medical professionals to find cures and control the spread of illnesses in the future. After all, the human life is more valuable than money. Therefore, the governments must not hesitate to spend money on medical research and cures. Another point to consider is that the medical researches and treatments benefit the economy indirectly. The medical research sector employs thousands of people. The pharmaceutical companies that produce drugs also employ lots of people and benefit the economy. For example, Switzerland’s economy is supported by the medical industry. Over 60% of its incomes and revenues come from this industry. There are also countries that count on medical tourism. Patients come from different parts of the world to these countries in order to get treated and healed. These host nations make a fortune from this type of tourism. In conclusion, while it is true that medical research and treatments are expensive, they save lives and improve the economy. Therefore, I believe that they are vital for the existence and survival of mankind.