Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both the opinion and give your own view.

While many people believe that visiting a foreign country or migrating there for work are the primary reasons that encourage a person to learn the local language of that country, some people also think that there are other benefits to learning a new language.In my opinion, learning an alien language not only adds to an individual's skills but it also contributes to expanding their horizon. Travel and earning in a foreign land are certainly key trends that motivate people to adapt to their local language. Further, immigration has become increasingly common especially in developing countries where people are in search of better work opportunities. On the other hand, developed countries that are sparsely populated are welcoming people from foreign lands to support their economic growth. This has led to enthusiasm in people for learning new languages in order to benefit from the ongoing trends. That said, there are several other reasons as to why an individual must show interest in speaking alien languages. Firstly, it expands a person's resume by adding a skill to it which may open the door for many opportunities at the workplace. For instance, an employee is likely to be considered for leading international conferences and meetings if he can speak in multiple languages. Another evident advantage that is gained by learning a new language is that it opens up a person's mind because he gets exposed to other cultures around the world. In other words, it expands their horizon of thinking which can only be seen as beneficial for personal development and growth. In conclusion, on one hand, visiting another country for work or pleasure serve as key motivators for people to learn new languages, other factors like expanding one's resume and overall horizon also push people to show interest in speaking languages that are not familiar to them.