In some countries, governments provide payments for unemployed people. How does this impact people? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that unemployment citizens could receive benefits when they need them from the authorities in many nations. Although it will enable someone to go through the difficult times, I believe that it also has a negative impact on countries’ progress. The effect of unemployment payments is that struggling individuals and families are able to survive challenging periods. A good recent example of this would be the record unemployment rates in the wake of the 2020 Covid-19 pandemic that millions of workers lost their jobs. To be more specific, many families can not afford their living expenses and without government, the support they might lose their homes or struggle to obtain everyday meals. As a result,the benefits allowed them to pull through a difficult period and use their time to look for a new job. Moreover, with a good amount of benefits, they can try to find a quality job rather than settling for the first position offered by a company trying to exploit the historic jobless rate to recruit workers with lower salaries. However, although providing benefits can help people sustain their lives, it has a largely negative development because it has wide-reaching effects on society. Firstly, helping the most difficult groups out of poverty may have a massive influence on the social workforce. It is likely that some people choose to claim benefits rather than working as they are no longer motivated to find a job. For example, some individuals found that the relief payments are even higher than their wages so they prefer to stay at home instead of going to apply for new employment. Furthermore, this will result in society not having enough labour to support its development because fewer people are willing to look for jobs again. In conclusion, unemployment benefits are a great boon for those without jobs in the short term, but I do believe that it will cause a shortage of social labourers and all citizens should be encouraged to work to earn a living and support themselves in the long term.