For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as introducing computer skill as a fourth important skill of education, especially for the past few years. Although there is substantial debate over whether reading, writing and maths are only important parts of the education or we should consider computer skill as a fourth important part. I am of the opinion that the latter proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. In this essay, I will discuss why I think computer knowledge should be considered an essential skill in education. Primarily, computers revolutionised every aspect of human life including communication and education. By learning how to operate computers, one can do any work quickly and easily. Besides, computers are involved in each and every sector, also they play a key role in the public sector. Governments throughout the world started digitalising their work and making all services available through computers. Not only citizens can get these benefits by learning the operation of computers, but also can save their time without travelling anywhere. For instance, today in most countries, citizens can apply for any government benefits by sitting at their home using computers. Secondly, with computer skills, students can learn their subjects more efficiently. Educational institutions started teaching their students using computers. However, if students do not learn how to operate computers it is hard to learn subjects. Moreover, entire jobs in the corporate industry completely relay on computers and their usage. Thanks to the knowledge of computers, students can not get high paid jobs without it. For example, any student who excelled in subjects like maths science and with highest grades can not get a job without any basic computer knowledge. In conclusion, From what has been discussed above, not only one can identify the importance of computer skills, but also understand why it should be considered as the fourth important skill in education.