Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In modern society, there is a heated debate about whether technological advancements are increasing the gap between wealthy and poor people. While the notion of the development of technology caused the distance of social classes is opposed by a few, I am firmly convinced that technology would be good for citizens for some reasons. On the one hand, I strongly believe that certain inventions and discoveries decreased the gap between people of different income levels. This is because they are accessible to all people due to their availability at cheaper rates. For example, internet technology is available to all most places such as railway stations, parks and airport where WIFI hotspots are freely accessible. Besides, online shopping, e-learning opportunities and social networking websites are available for both the rich and the poor in the society, thus the gap between both two classes is worn away. On the other hand, certain advancements in technology are not affordable for the poorer sections of society. For instance, not only modern medicine is expensive, but also certain new drugs and diagnostic procedures are very costly. Certain affluent people who developed cancer took treatment with a special kind of ingredient which was very expensive but had fewer side effects compared to conventional chemotherapy. Rich people can access these treatments by spending only a small portion of their income and improve their health. Poor people, by contrast, have to spend all of their money on conventional treatments and yet there is no guarantee that their condition will improve. All in all, although certain innovations in technology decrease the gap between the wealthy and the poor while certain developments make more polarized. It is hoped that in the near future all technologies will be available for all residents regardless of their economic status.