Many governments spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different forms of arts these days that are gaining wide popularity all over the world. Many people believe that governments should invest more money in art whereas, others believe that this money should be used in the development of other sectors like education and health. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and explain why I feel spending a lot of money on arts is unnecessary. I agree that art is equally asequally important as health and education. However, the higher authorities are not focusing on promoting arts the right way. The cinema industry spends huge lump sum of cash in the making of movies. For example, the Tollywood industry in India, on an average, spends almost 3 to 4 crores in the production of a single movie. This is definitely a waste of financial resources as this money can be used for many other purposes like health and infrastructure. Governments should implement laws to restrict the use of money in these fields. Furthermore, governments also spend a lot of money conducting different events. For instance, every year the ruling authorities set aside a large sum of money to hold events like national award shows or beauty pageant contests. These events lead to a lot of expenses from setting the stage to running the entire show which is funded by the governments. As it is important to recognise talent and reward them accordingly, these functions should be held with minimum expenses. The money saved instead can be used for improving education facilities. In conclusion, arts cannot be completely discarded from the system but, governments should cut down the amount of money used in the promotion of these activities. This money instead should be used for the development of schools, roads and other requirements of the country.