Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that individuals who live in a country where it is necessary to speak a language different from their native tongue may experience social and practical issues. I strongly agree with this statement since people can struggle to make friends as well as to do everday life activities. First and foremost, building relationships with other people can be quite hard when you are living abroad in a place where you are forced to talk in a tongue that it is not your own. This is because when a person does not know how to properly speak a foreign language, they cannot express themselves effectively. As a consequence, the process of communicating with others is impared, which impacts the ability to make friends. As an illustration of this, a recent survey has demonstrated that several international students suffer from depression as a result of a language barrier. Furthermore, people can face difficulties while doing even the basic common activities since they cannot fully communicate with local residents. To put it in another way, a simple activity such as shopping groceries can become a nightmare due to the fact that the person will not be able to understand the descriptions of the products which are sold in the store. For instance, last year I saw a chinese woman having an extremely hard time to buy a couple of items at a supermarket near my house because she could not understand that she had given a smaller amount of money than it was necessary to pay for her products. In conclusion, I completely agree that living in a place where you cannot speak your mother tongue can result in social and practical issues since people can experience difficulties to develop friendships and also to engage in everyday life activities.