Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is argued that the community is set on a certain set of rules and regulations and if the citizens have agency to do whatever they want the the society cannot move forward. This essay agrees that there must be law and order in the society because if these things are not there then the crime rate will increase and the justice is not served to the bad people. To begin with, the very laws and order are made to create a balance in the society where people knows that if they commit a crime then they will be punished. However, if there are no guidelines for the public then there is no fear of breaking the law as there is no law. Hence, the number of crime will surge upward. For example, even in todays world where there are various law and authorities, everyday there are thousands of laws broken but if there is no rules placed in the community then the individuals will do as their wish that can be committing serious crimes like murder and the society will be in chaos. In addition, if the citizens have freedom to act as their will then justice fails. This is to say that people with bad intentions will keep on voiliting visiting the rules and but there will be no mechanism for punishsing them. Moreover, the innocent people will suffer from this trend. To exemplify, serious criminals like rapist and murderer can slip away without any punishment and the victims will suffer all the time. In conclusion, there are laws and order in the society to for check and balance but if those regulations not on place and people have no law to follow then the number of crimes will increase and the punishment cannot be delivered to the convicts and eventually innocent people will suffer.