ANIMAL SPECIES ARE BECOMING EXTINCT DUE TO HUMAN ACTIVITIES ON LAND AND IN SEA. DISCUSS THE REASONS AND SOLUTIONS

The activities of humans as apex creatures severely affect other creatures. Furthermore, forestation and hunting are some of the reasons that lead to the extinction of animals. This essay will discuss the aforementioned causes and the solutions, such as encouraging tree planting and also a ban on animal hunting by the government. Forestation has a great impact on the habitat, especially birds. For example, in Nigeria due to the cutting down of trees, fewer birds are seen, as many of them migrate to neighbouring countries where they can find suitable abode. In addition, hunting is also a causative factor in the decline of animal life in certain geographic areas. Research reports that animals such as elephants and whales in china are killed either for leisure or for their parts which are sold at exorbitant rates on the black market. Consequently, such actions lead to a massive reduction in the number of these animals. One way to mitigate the effect of man's activities on the immediate environment is through planting. Programs such as " Save Earth " which was carried out in Ghana some years back, where citizens were encouraged to plant trees in a bid to protect the decline of the bird population. This will help to increase settlements for them. Furthermore, strict laws and measures should be enacted to dissuade the killing of animals either for sport or entertainment. Moreover, Japan is already experiencing a surge in the number of whales present in the Yuan sea, which was not so in the years past. The actions of the government by prohibiting animal abuse and punishing erring people led to this. To sum up, animals contribute to the ecosystem. Hence, they are relevant, if actions such as destruction of trees and hunting are countered by the government and individuals effectively there will be visible growth in the animal population, in a not so distant time.