Some people believe that the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Part of the population believes that essential skills necessary to succeed in some professional career cannot be taught in the university, while others believe that it is possible to learn it. This essay will discuss both perspectives and explain why I partially agree with the fact that an academic institution can facilitate the process of acquiring essential abilities for the future. To begin with, it is important to say that people who think that essential skills cannot be taught in universities claim that modern society values more personal experience and how prepared someone is dealing with pressure and deadlines than their academical knowledge. Besides, it has been increasing the number of companies that prefer not considering degrees a prerequisite to their hiring process. To illustrate that situation, the last hiring process of google for developer required only that the applicant had experience in meeting deadlines and performing excellent results under pressure. Nevertheless, universities still play an important role in people’s education and preparation for the future. The opportunity to socialize with peers who are focused on the same field of study might help students to access new contents and share different experiences. Therefore, the likelihood of developing new personal abilities increases. Moreover, university professors tend to create project events to evaluate and develop non technical knowledge such as speaking confidently in front of the public or the capability of respecting deadlines. To conclude, although attending university nowadays is not a prerequisite to succeed in some professional field, I believe that students could be extremely benefited if learning all the side experiences that academical institutions offer. Therefore, the likelihood of learning abilities essential in the labour market increases substancially.