Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Part of the population claim that, normally, educational systems focus to much time and energy on teaching theories and facts instead of orienting students to develop practical abilities. This essay will discuss the perspectives of these approaches and explain why I believe that more efforts should be destinate to teach practical skills to students. To begin with, people who defend that educational institutions should keep their focus on teaching teories and facts claim that it is more beneficial and prudent for students to acquire a solid basis before starting to practice. Therefore, students should enjoy the opportunity to absorb teachers and professors theoretical knowledge to correctly understand how things works and how things could be improved. Moreover, most of teachers and professors do not have experience on practical events; hence, they can be more useful focus on teaching theories. Nevertheless, although there are some benefits regarding focusing on theoretical knowledge, these benefits pale in comparison to the necessity of modernizing educational systems. Moreover, combining theory with practice can develop the interest of students in the learning process and might help them to retain complex information. For instance, some research conducted with teens in highschool age showed the levels of absence in class were twenty per cent higher in theory classes in comparison to practical ones. To conclude, having all the aspects presented, I totally believe that schools, universities and others educational institutions should restructure their systems in order to increase the time spent teaching practical skills. This change might reflec positively in students interests in the learning process and diminish the levels of absence in classes.