Some people say that television is a very useful tool when it comes to education. Others argue that television is a much overused, ineffective teacher. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion as to the usefulness of television as an educational tool.

People always have different views about the role of TV in education. While some think watching television is an effective method for teaching students, others argue that it is ineffective and has potential problems for children. In my opinion, it can be very useful if it is used under supervision. On the one hand, Some argue that teaching by television may cause a range of problems. First, most programs do not require much thought which may sometimes have a negative impact on students such as violence and crime. As a result, it is possible for children to imitate and influence their physical and mental health, even have a negative impact on society. Second, compared with teachers and books, there are limited educational resources on televisions because most of them are entertainment programs, sometimes with advertisements. Consequently, students cannot learn too much especially in their areas of interest from the television. On the other hand, there are lots of benefits in obtaining knowledge by watching television. Firstly, television programs can be informative and educational which allow viewers to have access to a huge variety of channels, For example, there are two programs in China which called “The Animal World” and the “ Historic Talk”, people can learn different spices and Chinese histories by watching video records. To be more specific, televisions can make boring subjects more attractive and easier to understand. In conclusion, although television has some drawbacks because of the lack of control, I strongly agree that it is a good tool for teaching due to it can stimulate people’s interest in learning. In addition, colourful videos make all knowledge more interesting and real.