Recent research has shown that media like the Internet and TV have a greater influence over people's lives than politicians. Which do you consider to be the greater influence?

Various studies have shown that television and the Internet put more impact on people's lives than politicians. In my opinion, those who have power are indeed losing their authority over citizens' minds due to Internet and television dominating people's minds. There are two primary reasons behind politicians having a less significant position in society: lack of commitment to the public welfare and selfish interest. Firstly, it is not easy to find politicians like Nelson Mandela these days who commit their life to the betterment of people and society. Most of the politicians are indulged in blame game by constantly opposing the party in opposition. This kind of behaviour has changed citizenry's perception towards political leaders who continuously delude the public in the name of serving them. Secondly, most political leaders use government resources for their own benefit and are frequently in the limelight for their fraudulent activities. In India, For example, Lalu Prasad Yadav, a leader of UPA party, was involved in fodder scam, taking away almost Rs 5000 crores of public money. Therefore, today's politicians are mostly touted as goons who lack credibility and worthiness to win people's confidence. What about the Internet and Television? Are these mediums actually having more influence or just pretending to be more impactful by putting politicians ' image down in front of viewers? The answer is simple; media shows the truth no matter how brutal it is. Moreover, the public is acutely aware and well-educated, so they cannot be tricked in today's world. In addition to this, the Internet and television are those powerful mediums which provide people with a platform to raise voice against wrong, without having to go on roads and fight for their rights. Therefore, masses tend to believe more in what is shown on media and television, thus winning the public's trust by having better influence. From the above arguments, it is clear that ordinary people no longer put their faith in politicians due to their habit of overpromising and under-delivering. Without any argument, the Internet and television have been able to sell themselves more powerfully and have more influence than political leaders.