In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Before modern times, many folks used to live in rural villages where folks know each other. Although, there were drawbacks to living in a small town. I believe there are advantages that outweigh the disadvantages. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. To begin with, living in a rural village is as not bad as some people believe. There were many benefits to living in the countryside. Firstly, there was a strong sense of community among the inhabitants. the community would help each other in difficult situations. For example, when a baby was born, a child was ill or relatives were dying, the community would help each other to deal with this situation. This could be advantages, especially if someone were lacking a family. Secondly, because of low population wrongdoers could be detected easily. This led to a lower crime and a safer place to raise kids. Thirdly, due to having fewer roads, fewer cars, and lower population. There were less traffic and family could enjoy breathing clean air. Lastly, smaller schools and smaller class sized that could lead children to get more individual attention. On the other hands, there were some difficulties living in a small town. Even though society living in towns had many social connections, this could reduce people privacy, especially for some people who rather keep the details of their lives for themselves. Another drawback, is while students could get more attention from their teachers, it was difficult to build a study environment and the majority of furniture was poor. This could lead to a weaker study process. To sum up, there are a plethora of advantages to living in a small village where folk know each other very well. So in my opinion, it is better to live in a small village than in an urban area.