Today people are using the things and throwing or replacing it with latest models or latest fashion. Do the advantages of throwing away society outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, consumerism is growing rapidly. People tend to replace their own things with the latest ones. Although there are some benefits to overconsumption, I will argue that there are for more drawbacks. The growing tendency for purchase among people constitutes a threat to the environment. Firstly, manufacturing new things at an alarming level negatively affects natural resources. To be cleared, due to increased demand, the earth’s resources have to be extracted, which leads to the destruction of renewable resources. For example, every year millions of trees are cut to produce furniture around the world, causing deforestation. Secondly, throwing non-biodegradable domestic refuse away pollutes the environment. Likewise, the exhaust fumes, emitted by factories, lead to air pollution. While many disadvantages are claimed from overconsumption, there are some advantages. A further benefit is a technological boost. The public demand for purchasing stuff with cutting-edge technology forced manufacturers to produce innovative products and use the most updated technology to attract more consumers. Furthermore, the increasing demand market generates tens of thousands of job opportunities for the youth. In other words, factories have to employ workers and technicians to produce stuff, in a great demand. In conclusion, weighing up the benefits and drawbacks of the public tendency to buy modern things, although there are a number of advantages like its positive effects on technological boost and employment, its threats to the environment, such as air pollution, and the destruction of natural renewable resources, are impossible to ignore since our nature is our heritage for the next generations.