Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that putting convicts in jail is not a suitable solution for the issue but providing education and necessary skills are the most viable option. This essay disagrees that criminals should be given schoolings and skills classes. Firstly, the main objective of prison is to punish them and secondly, such programmes cost extra budget for the government. To begin with, the primary reasons the prisons are built is to punish the lawbreakers by taking their freedom. This is to say that when anyone commits a crime then they should be punished for their wrongdoings. Moreover, facilities such as studies and programmes that help to acquire skills look like opportunities rather than consequences. Hence, citizens will fearless in committing a crime as the consequences they already know is no that harsh but instead an easy to pass by. For example, if the convicts are sentenced to study or complete training in place of prison time then the individuals fear of law and authorities will decline. Thus, this will not be a punishment rather a reward. Secondly, Maintaining prisons and holding prisoners is already an expensive sector for the government and providing an extra service of having education and training will cost a heavy budget ever year. This is to say that the authorities will pay for these works with the taxpayer's money who are law-abiding citizens and support the economy. As a result, this will rise in tax percentage for an innocent population which is not fair. For instance, teaching academics and running training are expensive programmes and the nation will investing its valuable budgets on lawbreakers who are most like to re-offend after they come out of jail. In conclusion, the public believes that the confinement for lawbreakers is not valid and they should be given proper education and skills, however, this essay argues that this will plummet the fear among the criminals in committing the serious crimes and consumes more funds of the nation paid by the law-abiding citizens.