Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people do believe in education and skills development as replacement jail punishment for those who are committing a crime. Not to mention, though, prison sentences are not the most effective way for all kinds of crimes to address. I do partly agree with this surrogate method. The reason why some people think job training can be set instead of prison punishment would be its efficient impact on an individual’s behaviour. In the other words, this is because people, in particular teenagers, who are committing a crime such as pickpocketing or even drug smuggling need to treat in the right way. Besides this, most adolescent criminals have grown up in poor or broken families, thus, they do not have the chance being a productive person, and most of them unintentionally tend to commit a crime. Therefore, it is unfair to experience prison sentences and should be given a new chance to build their life. Additionally, on the other side, jail is a place in which can be seen different aged criminals commit varied offences including murder, vandalism, kidnapping and so on, that make jail far more dangerous instead of being informative. I do think, however, imposing a fine on petty crime, run a light for example, or even in some online fraud that people lose their money. In conclusion, although education and professions training are suitable ways that can apply instead of such harsh sentences, I do believe imposing fine might be proper as well.