Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

One of the rapid changes of today’s world is eradication of some local languages. There is now a debate over whether or not we should embrace this change or worried about it. There are a group of people who believe fewer languages means easier communication. I completely disagree with this view as I think there would be several negative consequences along with it. To begin with, behind each language and linguistic rules lied a hidden treasure. In other words, each language is a representative of a unique culture of a nation. A lot of anecdotes, fables, and poets in each language is formed as a result of a historic event in that particular culture and with languages dying out, a part of human history will be lost. A good example of this would be foreign countries invasions to another country in history which had led to complete diminishment of local culture such as the case with Egyptian invasion to Syria which ruined the unique communication style of Syrian people. Although it might sound easier to have just one universal language and get yourself free from language barrier problems, there is one point missing here and that is loss of language diversity attraction for tourists. For instance, imagine one day all people around the world speak in English, which is currently one of the most popular languages, no enthusiasm and curiosity would be left in this case for tourists to explore another country and culture. In a nutshell, I firmly believe disadvantages of complete removal of a language from course of history will significantly outweigh its possible advantage. As much as communicating in a universal language may look exciting, but it would result in loss of culture diversity and local literature attraction to travelers.