Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

It is becoming accepted by some people that old people ought to be taken care of by the government, while others are of opinion that family members need to care for their old parents in today's complex society. Personally, I totally agree that both the government and family members should take responsibility for the elderly for some reasons. As time goes on, human beings are due to become old. Thus, we sometimes need someone else to be looked after in terms of physical activity or financial situation. As for who should be responsible for older people, in my view, the authorities along with families could possibly do a favour for the elderly. For example, if only the government is forced to come to a decision to grand social aid for the elderly population, in this case, it will meet their needs for money. And they will be on the verge of being a lack of care. Therefore, the government is not sufficient for the elderly to survive. On the other hand, one of the parental duties in life is to bring up their offspring. From my perspective, also children must have a commitment in front of their parents. In other words, sons and daughters are responsible for their elderly parents because they need their children as much as kids need their parents when they are in childhood. Having said that, the government has to help them as well. For instance, in case only family members are compelled to look after their old parents and if they are living under the poverty line, in this regard, the family will not be able to meet their necessities. As a result of this, the old people may be forced to live in nursing houses, which, I do not think, they deserve living. In conclusion, despite some people claim that the government have lots of things to do related to this issue, I am not inclined to believe that it is possible without the helping of family members. It is because, the elderly not only need financial aid, but also sweet care by their children.