Some people think it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world health care system has been facing enormous pressure due to the frequent outbreaks of diseases. There is a heated debate about whether governments should spend more on improving a healthy lifestyle. To a certain extend I agree that a healthy lifestyle is more beneficial, but, we cannot ignore the role of timely treatments. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, the main reason why a healthy way of living is of great importance for citizens is that it helps them to become healthier and the government budget has been used wisely. To begin with, prevention is better than cure, through national and local awareness enhancement campaigns which are cost-effective, people can know better potential health risks associated with their bad habits. For example, instead of consuming too much fast food on a daily basis, young people and busy workers should choose more nutritious foods or try to cook by themselves, which can prevent the diseases such as obesity and other fatal diseases. On the other hand, we cannot underestimate the importance of expense on the medical system. The medical treatment fee for a single patient with cancer or new diseases can reach dozens of millions or billions with their families. Therefore, the states should assist the already ill patient to cover their medical fees as a moral duty because these fees are very expensive in some countries that only the rich can afford. Additionally, building more hospitals and buying modern equipment should also be put into consideration as it is necessary in the long term. For instance, in Covid 19 pandemic periods, if the Vietnam authority does not invest in vaccines and modern treatment, doctors may not be able to cure thousands of sick people. In conclusion, I firmly believe that more emphasis should be placed on raising the level of public awareness. It is predicted that, in future, the supply of medical treatment will be paid more attention.