Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Due to an increase in competition, children are expected to compete with others of their age. Few people encourage a sense of competition in them while many are against this concept and teach a principle of cooperating with others rather than engaging in a competition. I personally agree with the latter part, however, we will through some light on both points. To begin with, people are designed to compete as nature has made us a survival of the fittest. Therefore, competition helps to raise a bar and pushes to perform with an envious thought of getting better results. However, children are expected to perform well and outshine others of their age. Therefore, they are subjected to constant stress and the responsibility of performing better. For instance, students in school are expected to get good marks and often compared with others who have scored more. This can have an adverse effect on a child's psychology and cause mental issues. On the contrary, they should be taught high moral values which include a sense of selflessness and should be asked to give their best with an assurance that they will not be compared or evaluated. This can help in the restoration of their self-esteem and further, enhance their potential in the kind of activity they like the most. To sum up, competition can help to develop a habit of outshining and raise a bar. However, this habit can not only alleviate the self-esteem of a child but also affects confidence. Rather, values of cooperation and helpful nature should be developed which contributes to becoming a better person in future.