it is more important for government to spend public funds on promoting a healthy lifestyle than treatment. do you agree of disagree?

Investing in primary prevention was always the ultimate goal of governments around the world. The idea of allocating governments ' money into advocacy for a healthy lifestyle instead of treatment is advantageous. I totally agree with this statement because it will benefit the government financially. It has been estimated that over fifty per cent of the government's revenue is spent on health care annually to deal mostly with chronic diseases like diabetes, obesity and cardiac diseases. These medical conditions are the result of inactivity, which can be minimized by focusing on promoting healthy lifestyles for residents. For example, increasing the bike lanes and banning cars during rush hour to access to the city centre, can encourage the working population to bike to work instead of driving. Another action that the government can take is to build fitness facilities in different neighbourhoods for everyone to use. Thus by encouraging exercise we will have healthier people and less disease-related to lack of activity like obesity, diabetes, and other chronic conditions. This can save a lot of money that can be later invested in some other parts. The second aspect of a healthy lifestyle is a healthy diet. It has been claimed that governments ' money can be saved by encouraging people to avoid eating junk food. An unhealthy diet can result in so many endless lists of health issues including hypertension and heart attack. Needless to say that the cost of dealing with those ailments puts the government into a huge financial burden. This problem can be tackled by advertising for a healthy diet and replacing fast-food restaurants with farm markets.If the government increase the tax on fast food products and make them unaffordable for low to moderate-income families, and decrease the cost of fresh produce on the other side, making them affordable for all, few people will aim to buy unhealthy foods. To conclude, I totally agree with the notion of the government promoting a healthy way of living for residents rather than spending money on treatment. Due to the fact that over fifty per cent of the governments ' money goes into the health care system. Instead of paying to cure diseases, they can invest in a healthy lifestyle like expanding bike lanes and working on reducing the cost of healthy foods to have a healthier population.