In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the most controversial issues today is the city's budget for rail. Some people believe that the government should spend a lot of money on building new railways, while others support the position that it should be used to support existing public transport. I think we should build new lines and support existing ones. On the one hand, there are many reasons to spend the budget on new railway works. The main reason for this is that increasing railway lines can greatly help the economic development of certain cities. This is because these lines enable people to travel from one city to another, thereby improving economic connectivity between cities. Consequently, the construction of these new lines can reduce the use of other vehicles that do not have a negative impact on the environment. For example, citizens of one city travel by train rather than drive to another city, which reduces emissions to a certain extent. Therefore, building new lines is beneficial for both economic development and environmental protection. On the other hand, It cannot be denied that it is also crucial for authorities to allocate their funds to the promotion of current public transport. Firstly, there is a large demand for improving their subway and bus, since people take these public transports every day. For instance, most of the residents in the city take the subway or bus to work or study and thus these facilities need to be promoted to satisfy local citizens' basic needs. Secondly, developing current public transport is also a good way to solve social issues, like traffic congestion. To take an example, with a better public transport system, more citizens will probably take the subway or bus and thus there will be fewer private cars on the street, which helps reduce the possibility of traffic congestion. To conclude, I believe that the government should spend its budget not only on building new railways, but also on the development of existing public transport.