With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, e- books ' popularity has increased which makes paper books less desirable. While some people think that e-book is a better alternative for reading than the conventional way, others totally disagree with that. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of e- books. On the one hand, e- books can be easily stored in electronic devices which gives it the upper hand over paper books. For instance, e- books can be saved on computers or tablets for many years which gives the user the advantage to transfer e- books from one device to another. In addition to that, e- books cannot be damaged compared to paper books which are more prone to damages. Also, e- books are more accessible and can be carried anywhere. For example, stored e- books in portable devices make it easier for travelers to carry their favorite books on the plane and save some space in their luggage. On the other hand, one problem with e-book is that it requires devices that use high technology to view the e-book in a presentable way. This creates a problem for those who cannot afford to buy these devices. For example, if companies stop printing books and move towards making e- books instead, less fortunate people won’t have access to books to read and learn. Another problem with e- books is that they can harm the eyes of the reader. In other words, starring at a screen of an electronic device can cause short-sightedness for the reader. In conclusion, the popularity of e- books makes them more favorable compared to paper books. However, there are some disadvantages associated with the use of e- books.