Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There is a worrying trend that after undergoing the initial punishment, many convicts are involved in further criminal activities. Personally, there is a wide range of contributing culprits behind this puzzling issue, however, it is not necessarily beyond solution. To begin with, the taxing problem of re-offence could stem from several factors. The first one is financial hardship. The reason is that they lack some essential skills and have an insufficient level of education to be able to walk into a job that enables them to sustain daily life. They, therefore, are likely to be lured to engage in activities without regard to legal constraints. Another aspect that is worth mentioning is the refusal of companies to rehabilitate prisoners regardless of their ability. This could come down to the fact that employers tend to consider offenders would put safety, security, and morality at risk, and along with it comes discrimination against them. A number of practical actions could be taken to overcome this hurdle. It is highly advisable for prisons to organize comprehensive job training programs. For example, courses such as making handicrafts, wood furniture, labour tools, and sewing clothes could be arranged regularly where lawbreakers can be instructed by vocational trainers, thereby facilitating a successful reintegration into society for wrongdoers afterwards. Furthermore, what the government should do is reduce taxes on companies that employ people who have been in prison. By doing so, they could help individuals establish a sense of belonging and community. Not until the authorities enforce that policy will the likelihood of reoffending decrease. In conclusion, reasons for recidivism vary and it is high time these aforementioned measures should be adopted to redeem the situation.