Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

In today's era, food scarcity is one of the major concern. Nations shall reckon to pay attention to public demand for food production and limit their imports. It is, therefore, imperative that every state drafts its own plans for self-sufficiency in crop raising. I am in complete agreement with this opinion. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall expound my thoughts in detail. Firstly, the dearth of edibles results in inflammation of foodstuffs. For example, natural calamities when farms are destroyed it results in an increased rate of that product and indirectly impacts the pocket of a resident. As per the survey by "The Times " most of the events the food prizes have been increased due to damage caused to the field during heavy rainfall. Secondly, in times of war-like situations international trade will be completely banned. So countries which depend solely on imports for feeding their population will suffer badly. For instance, during the pandemic situation the trade across national borders was stopped due to which all home countries had to rely on inhouse food generation for feeding the population. Improving the agricultural sector impacts positively on the country's economy. It creates jobs opportunities for the unemployed and helps in eradicating poverty. If crops are produced in surplus, it increases exports. Food security also increases the brand image of the country in the international arena owing to increased stability. If we can produce nutritious food in a self-sustained manner, we will be building a healthy community. This will help us to become a superpower in the competitive world market. To put it in a nutshell, food security is indeed a necessity at this hour. It is a sign of an improved economy and also a solution for many chronic problems within a country.