Comparative study on accuracy of mucosal estradiol-17β, testosterone and 11-ketotestosterone, for maturity, and cutaneous vitellogenin gene expression in goldfish (Carassius auratus)

Knowledge of sex identification and reproduction outputs in fish still requires more details to optimize aquaculture facilities management, particularly on some species, they are mature later than the male, or hermaphrodite species with a sex ratio managing reason, etc. (Barkowski and Haukenes, 2014; Budd et al., 2015; Chen et al., 20201-3). A relevant low-risk method is become an important option to determine reproduction outputs based on sex and maturity status. Although several methods have been used, so far, in sex and maturity identification, including ultrasonography (Moghim et al., 2002; Kohn et al., 20134-5), laparoscopy (Falahatkar et al., 20116), plasma sex steroid assay (Mandich et al., 2004; Kohn et al., 2013; de Carvalho et al., 20175, 7-8) and gonad histology (Petochi et al., 2011; Falahatkar and Poursaeid, 20149-10), some of them are considered as invasive techniques. Among the different procedures, blood sampling is usually regarded as a robust source of reproduction indicator including sex steroids and vitellogenin (VTG) known as critical regulators of the reproduction cycle and sex indicator (Mandich et al., 2004; Orlando et al., 2007; Loke-Smith et al., 2010; Sole et al., 20167, 11-13). The blood females' maturity markers, estradiol-17β (E2) and VTG (Garnayak et al., 2013; Reading et al., 201714-15), as well as blood androgenic steroids [testosterone (T) and 11-ketotestosterone (11-KT)] involved in males’ spermatogenesis and spermiation processes (Barry et al., 1990; Schulz et al., 199016-18), are commonly used in sex determination (Falahatkarand and Poursaeid, 2014; de Carvalho et al., 20178, 10). However, they cannot be recommended as a robust tool owing to the stressful process sampling, which may interfere with fish welfare status. In recent years, the skin mucosal layer has been seen several functions which are related to the fish immunity system (Subramanian et al., 2008; Roosta et al., 2014; Sanahuja et al., 2019; Abolfathi et al., 202019-22), environmental disruptors (Meucci and Arukwe, 2005; Fernandez-Alacid et al., 2018; Bolluch et al., 202023-25) and somewhat reproduction diagnostic characteristics (Barkowski and Haukenes, 20141). Mucus, a preferred method by supporting environmental safety and conservation of species, can be utilized as a surrogate of blood, due to the fact that it prevents fish sacrificing, minimizes the physiological stress or can be collected even if repeated samplings are required (Schultz et al., 2005; Ekman et al., 2015; Dzul-Caamal et al., 2016; Oliveria et al., 201726-29), that possesses similar components. Skin mucosal tissue indeed contains a lower range of reproduction substances comprising 11-KT (Schultz et al., 2005; Barkowski and Haukenes, 20141, 26) and VTG (Moncaut et al., 2003; Pottinger et al., 2005; Kohn et al., 2013; Barkowski and Haukenes, 20141, 5, 30-31) rather than blood plasma; therefore, their contents may be less effective to identify the sex ratio or maturity stages (Kohn et al., 20135). In this study, goldfish (Carassius auratus), a well-known animal model, has been selected. It is frequently used in fish reproduction physiology, endocrinology, ecology and immunology. Goldfish is a seasonal spawner species, which could be easily maintained under natural and laboratory conditions to monitor its performance (Popesku et al., 2008; Nelson and Habibi, 2010; Gong et al., 2016; Blanco et al., 2018; Thompson et al., 201832-36). The main target of this study was to corroborate maturational progress, plus sex identification through mucus sex steroids included E2, T, 11-KT. There are a number of physio-biological components in skin mucus that proved our hypothesis about mucus secretion in reproduction physiology. In that regard, this study was designed to explore the accuracy of sex steroids along with Ca and VTG as a non-invasive diagnostic way. In addition, the circulation of sex steroids in fish mucus, detection of E2 and T, can lead to new knowledge in fish skin indices. The vtg gene expression was also determined in different reproduction related-tissues.