In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV Shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

As per recent readership and viewership survey conducted by BARC, BBC its found that world across in many countries crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming popular among masses in span of last 2 years. People are investing equal amount of time in reading about crime novels through physical books or digital copy and major reason being different suspense plot holding interest of the audience. There are many other reasons apart from suspense part for these genre of TV shows and books to gain such following. Firstly to begin with content is now easily available in much more comprehensible manner at the fingertips of the user. This can be ascertain with finding of recent Indian readership survey which saw 40% rise in readers for such fiction especially in age group of 21 to 50 and also more than physical books more such stories were digitally downloaded as pdf version specially on kindle having 60% downloads. Secondly I think public at large are now wanting to face reality and dark truth of society and issues that many people face at large but goes un-noticed since they aren’t part of mainstream media. When people understand the nusiances nuances of reality they feel motivated to undertake corrective steps / stands for criminal justice issues. Prime examples of the judgement of Supreme court of India in Jessica Lal murder case or the Black Lives Matter movement in America where justice was denied due to power, gender and color of skin. Thirdly crime thrillers depict wide range of content from murder mystry, rapes, judicial killings, financial thefts to identity theft and more catering to wide needs of audience like and preferences and hence as per IMDB in 2020 Harshad Mehta – Financial Scam was the most viewed web show across globe which even won BAFTA Awards. In my personal opinon these kind of reality based fictional shows and books will have positive impact on the society and would help public remain vigilant about their surroundings and safety of their own selves and loved one. Also it deter criminals of the public ire and punishment they can face for their deeds and most importantly help victims fight for justice and connect with right people across system. Hence these types of shows would bring in good change in society and help citizens remain alert.