In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to the growing competition nowadays, a number of businesses try to seek new competitive advantages over others to gain the capital market, including the debut of innovative products. From my perspective, this can be absolutely considered a beneficial trend as it eventually contributes to customers' sake. First and foremost, emphasizing newness in advertising is used as a tool to attract customers' attention. To illustrate more, in order to gain public interest, firms have to come up with a new feature or function in some way, otherwise, their goods will be tedious. The presentation they choose to promote in the advertisement is also a crucial part of highlighting the novelty which is proved to allure the communal attention. As a result of such advertisement, it leads to, apart from consumers' curiosity, an increase in sales and market share as well. As far as I am concerned, the contest among sellers to win consumers' hearts significantly contributes to a huge improvement of outputs. For example, in the automotive industry, many brands endeavour to develop advanced functions for better performance. Electronic vehicles can exemplify the transformation in a good way because the trend of eco-friendly among the world's population has been rising these days which is the main reason why numerous automotive brands develop their cars to be powered by electricity instead of oil. To conclude, it is common in the current society that the majority of companies accentuate the freshness of their products, primarily due to the competitive ambience and increased public awareness. Hence, in my opinion, this circumstance will positively contribute to progressive innovations.