"The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether citizens should be highly encouraged to use public transportation rather than private cars in order to alleviate congestion and air contamination. In my opinion, I totally agree with this solution because of some below reasonable explanations. To begin with, it can be considered as an effective measure to deal with traffic jams when people commute by means of public transport instead of private vehicles. Indeed, the traffic infrastructure in some countries cannot meet the citizen’s demand as the roads are too narrow, compared with a huge number of cars in use on a daily basis. Consequently, public transport such as buses and subways can solve the gridlocks as many people can travel in a long distance at the same time. This can be exemplified by the prime case of Japan, where inhabitants mainly commute to work by subway, which can partly mitigate traffic jams during rush hour. Additionally, it is undeniable that encouraging urban dwellers to utilize the public transportation can make substantial contributions to addressing the issue of polluted air. To be more specific, if each individual uses one car, it is estimated that about 136 grams of carbon dioxide per kilometer is discharged. By comparison, with the use of public transport such as buses and subways, a number of carbon emissions could be reduced considerably, with 950 grams over 50 people per kilometer, according to some statistics in 2016. Therefore, using more public transport can be a simple and feasible solution to tackle air pollution in big cities. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people’s awareness of using public transport instead of private vehicles should be raised so as to solve traffic snarls and air degradation, hence the quality of life could be improved as a result.